ESP8266 AT Command Set

As of tonight – for ESP-01 WIFI development, I’ve tested the latest AT command set from the Google Drive that Expressif link to – there’s a version from 2 days ago call version 4  – last I heard from them I was testing version 3 and as usual when I ask questions – a day later I get very short responses… now, this is later as I was testing it tonight and noted these returned values in bold

OK
AT+CIPSEND=0,3
> 1
Link
+IPD,1,4:GO1
OK
AT+CIPSEND=1,3
busy inet…
ERROR
0
wrong syntax
ERROR
Link
+IPD,1,4:GO2
OK
AT+CIPSEND=1,3
busy inet…
ERROR
1
wrong syntax
ERROR
Link
+IPD,2,4:GO1
OK
Link

I’ve NOT managed to find the source code for this and I am assuming it doesn’t use the NEW version of the SDK they released today?? OR does it. Somehow need to get a version of the source and the make file that runs with the new SDK – I’m just about ready to tackle this myself.. I’m assuming that “wrong syntax” is the replacement for “no is fun” and “busy inet…” is the replacement for “busy__ s” – but that’s only a guess. The errors you see here incidentally happen in extreme circumstances… like cutting the communication off half way – but of course in the real world that WILL happen – but it kind of recovers….

Anyone have a complete set of working sources this recent? And if so do we now have static address commands – because the SDK does!

7 thoughts on “ESP8266 AT Command Set

  1. Damn it all to hell. Like you, I am going to keep having faith that this issue will get resolved somehow. I want this to work so badly as I am already using it in several projects. So far things are working, but every once in a while, this %$#@ creeps in making my projects rather worthless until this is resolved… busy s… PITA!!!

    • Well, be sure to drop back in here if you come up with anything new that I’ve missed…. I’ve put a lot of time into this and still don’t really have a working solution – but I’m a lot nearer than this time last week 🙂

  2. Well what we need as a starting point is the latest AT set to got with the latest library – I can’t find that. The latest version of the software I can find works – but they’ve introduced some new messages and it still gets busy..s occasionally but does not now lock up forever. I’ve been messing with some code to get the time from a webserver and I can pretty much get it to do that at full page with like you the odd ANNOYING error. On the other hand that LUA software is awfully attractive as you can store most of the code on the board – but that has a ridiculously long heap recovery time right now.

    The ideal for me – and probably halve of the rest of the world would be the LUA software- but working, with onboard setup (as per normal modems) and a library of routines for handling external gadgets – OR the full source code of the working LUA software so we can add our own – somehow I’m not seeing that happening in the short term. CLEARLY the chip has the abilities many of us need – we just need a concerted effort to sort the software – right now everyone is going in different directions.

  3. Hi, Nice article!
    I am trying to use the esp8266 as a server and create a client-server communication. I need to achieve very good real time performances since I need it to control via WiFi a tiny DC motor.
    So far I have got a frequency of roughly 1 Hz getting always “busy inet…” message when I try to make two very close CIPSEND…1 Hz onestly is really bad…Anyone has any idea on how to speed up the communication?
    Furthermore, and I really do not understand why, sometimes the device get an autoreset making me lose totally the communication. Anybody has an idea also about this autorestarting issue?
    To me it sounds like if the device gets too busy with the AT commands then it resets but it is only a guess.

    Any help is very welcome! Thanks
    Cheers
    Ugo

    • Busy inet is because you are sending something before waiting for the previous response. You MUST always use a response system that waits for the relevant string – and then give suitable time for anything that comes after that like a carriage return – if you do this – the busy signals will go away.

      • Thanks for your kind reply Scargill.
        I am checking the “SEND OK” string and the “>” character but it looks that if I try to do two CIPSEND commands the first goes well replying me with the “>” and “SEND OK ” but after the second I get the busy inet and it does not remember even the command, I need to resend the command after seeing an extra “SEND OK”. Or the problem is that I see a previous “SEND OK” on the serial because I am running too fast or I do not have any idea…
        Can you give me further help?
        What about the 1 Hz thing?Can you go faster than 1 Hz?

Leave a Reply

