Christmas ESP8266 Terminal Magic

Many thanks to everyone for suggestions and ideas. The terminal now has two uses for those 10 notepads – either to send blocks of code off to the serial line – OR to act as the source for autocomplete – so you have full control over the autocomplete. In addition after spending half the day figuring out how to split up the serial input into actual lines as against arbitrary blocks, that is now all wrapped up and the output window has user-definable colour-coding so you can more easily read the output. Works for me!!! Still relatively clean looking, but with new controls in settings and a whole new row of buttons at the bottom.  I think I may ditch the “Simple” from the title at some point. I’ve made some more changes to the settings which MIGHT let it install in XP but definitely fine for Windows 7 and upwards…

Scargill Serial Terminal

9 thoughts on “Christmas ESP8266 Terminal Magic

  1. I created a library for the ESP8266 with an Arduino: https://github.com/Diaoul/arduino-ESP8266
    It supports the whole v0.20 AT command set and features non-blocking receive. I did extensive testing but there might be a few bugs I didn’t catch. If so, please open issues.

    The ESP8266 is really a pain to work with, this library will make it a lot easier 🙂 Hope you like it.

  2. I really like this terminal application, however recently after uploading various NodeMcu builds (currently I am on 0.9.4) every time I send any AT command the response I get is stdin 1: “=” expected near “+” I mean all AT commands respond like this, is it because I changed to NodeMcu builds ?

    • Like you I am using 0.9.4 and it won’t be the last as it still has some issues. And like you I find the handshaking is not working perfectly any more. It works “most” of the time. Thanks to Javier who reminded me of the English speaking forum and I think you might want to go in there and say exactly what you have just said here – I have already passed comment but another voice would help. : http://www.esp8266.com/viewtopic.php?f=22&t=882 This editor/terminal has a lot of promise – I briefly stopped using my own design when it came out but am temporarily back to use it – when he fixes whatever is wrong I see a good future for ESPlorer. I do wish it would autosave the working window – perhaps you might suggest that.

  3. I can’t thank you enough for sharing this application. I have two ESP-01 modules that I am just beginning to play with and get a grasp on how they work. I connect the modules to a PC via FTDI adaptors. I would open two instances of TeraTerm and then type commands, retype commands, mistype and retype commands. I downloaded your app and NO MORE RETYPING!!! Just selct text and click “Send Selected”. Every thing works good for me except when I try to use the AT+CIPSEND command. The ESP module never responds with “>”. I have verified that CR/LF is being sent just as it does with TeraTerm. The only think I can imagine is that there needs to be a delay between the data length number and the CR as though a human is typing. Can you verify?

    I often send the following sequence to reset the device:

    AT+CIPCLOSE=0
    AT+CIPSERVER=0
    AT+CWQAP
    AT+RST

    AT+CWMODE=3
    AT+CIPMUX=1
    AT+CIPSERVER=1,1100
    AT+CIPSTO=600

    AT+CWJAP=”ssid”,”password”

    AT+CWJAP?
    7AT+CWMODE?
    AT+CIPMUX?
    AT+CIFSR
    AT+CWLIF
    AT+CIPSTATUS

    I have to do this in three parts in order to give time after the RST and after the JAP because of the time the module takes to complete those steps. It would be niece to be able to embed a delay statement so I could just select all of this and then “send selected”. Maybe someting like <> Just a suggestion. Once again, thanks!

    • Oh.. delays – you HAVE TO WAIT – and I mean every time – don’t do it the easy and wasteful way as some have done (ie honking great delays) – here’s what I did – I wrote a routine to send the data – and then wait X time for anything… and timeout fail if nothing comes back. Then start looking for a start string – and an end string – and store everything in between in a buffer – with timeout.

      So most commands will have an OK in them but not all – you’ll need to experiment manually (best way) to see what comes back at each stage and wait for it (or timeout). All your problems will go away – and connecting to an access point could be milliseconds – or it could be seconds – take that into account.

  4. I agree wholeheartedly about the delay issue and having to take it into account. Using the tool that you most kindly shared allowed me quickly identify a necessary delay.

    Like you, I will be creating a network of little microprocessor based devices (not arduino) that will communcate amongst themselves in a private ESP network to begin with. Before I start the cycle of writing software in a text editor, compile, burn, test, debug, huh?? Why didn’t that work??, OH CRAP, rinse repeat… I try to learn as much up front to help reduce the number of cycles.

    Your tool has allowed me to do fast prototyping to reduce the number of arduose, time consuming cycles. If I could simulate the delays needed by my devices within your tool I could further refine what my little boogers will have to do before starting that cycle.

    Thank you for the wealth of knowledge and contributions you’re making for all of us. As they say, “Time is money.” I don’t have much money to spend on this so I end up spending a lot of time. It’s wonderful that there are folks that will share their work to save others the time.

    I hope to get to the point that I too can be not just a reciever but a giver.

  5. Yes it’s a shame we can’t all pool resources more effectively. Right now I have my first ESP8266 WIFI controlled light working (I know, it’s not the first in the world, but it’s MY first). Immediately I hit a snag… I took it into the house to show my wife – nothing – I then realised of course that she’s slightly out of range of the access point. In the MQTT software (compiling nicely in Eclipse – what a boon that is for Windows users) you fill in the details of your access point and password and it goes off to get connected. If it fails, tough. What I’d really like is for someone to take this little part of the job off me and allow for an array of access point names and passwords. The software would get a list of available access points, compare with the list we’ve put in – pick the strongest, get it’s password and connect to it. The beauty of using MQTT messages and a broker is you don’t care what IP address you are on – all that matters is that you have a decent connection. So much to do – only 2 hands and one brain.

Leave a Reply

