Solid State Relays

Please note – this blog is WELL out of date and all of my blog items and much, much more have now been moved to http://tech.scargill.net – visit the site – sign up for much more.

SSRYesterday I published a blog about some little DIP solid state relays – and was reminded by a friend that these… http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/351198840167?_trksid=p2059210.m2749.l2649&ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT are cheaper and higher power if not so tiny – and he’s right – I have some and they work a treat. If you try them from GPIO0 on the ESP8266 however, make them + based not – based.. ie connect – to the output and + to the 3v3 supply of the ESP8266 which means you have to reverse your on/off logic.

I have one attached to a compact fluorescent light and it’s working a treat.

6 thoughts on “Solid State Relays

  1. I can only tell you that I pulled 2 out of the packet of 5 – and tried them and using +v reference, they work perfectly with 22w compact fluorescent lights.

    Amazingly I wanted to test them with something more substantial – and I don’t have a single higher power light in the house!!! I would go and buy a 100w lamp but they don’t sell these in the UK any more!!! I’ll see if I can find something more substantial. With a 22w light they run freezing cold.

    • I think that Glen concern was about the voltage controlling the relay and not how much it can handle in the load side. (That was my thoughts too).
      Maybe because it’s a replica it works on 3.3V (The cheapest Omron G3MC-202P DC5 cost 3.5$ in quantity of 5000 pcs).

      I think I’ll stay with your yesterday recommendation 🙂

  2. Well, NEITHER are recommendations as my testing on the larger units is down to one lamp and I’ve not received the new little DIP unit yet – they are simply brought to your attention as something to consider. Hopefully over the weekend I’ll get to do some more substantial testing.

  3. Indeed marginally cheaper and worldwide free post – but given what has been said elsewhere – I would like to see more testing of these devices. I think I may just head off out and buy a couple of 50w halogens…. I also have another solid state relay supposedly capable of handling 15 amps.. I plan to use that to control a heater…

Leave a Reply

